Welcome to the Panopto Community

Please note: All new registrants to the Panopto Community Forum must be approved by a forum moderator or admin. As such, if you navigate to a feature that is members-only, you may receive an error page if your registration has not yet been approved. We apologize for any inconvenience and are approving new members as quickly as possible.
Options

Auth for new RESTful API (2019-09-16)

Caitlin McCabeCaitlin McCabe Administrator

Original Post: Deborah Fitchett, September 19, 2019 at 10:12 PM

I'm trying to get started with the new RESTful API. I'm a self-taught programmer on the side of my real job so struggling a little with the documentation at points that might be obvious to people who code for a living. 😃

I'm using PHP and cURL. (I can't gain any insight from the Python examples on GitHub, it may as well be in Sanskrit; I can't even tell which of the sample files is relevant to me.) I've worked with RESTful APIs before but in my experience the way auth is handled varies wildly from API to API (user/pass, cookies, tokens, checksums; sending data in the url vs header vs post data....) and I'm not clear what's wanted here.

1) With the SOAP API (which I never got working, I'm even less comfortable with that than with RESTful!) we had a username/password. With RESTful I take it we create a client with ID and secret, so have done that.

2) I also take it the next step is to use that ID and secret to create a token. I see the machine-readable documentation at , but... not having learned APIs formally I can't translate any of this into Human so can't figure out what any of these options means or how they fit together. Which endpoint(s?) do I need to contact? How do I pass the data to them? What other parameters (scope etc?) are required?