Welcome to the Panopto Community

Please note: All new registrants to the Panopto Community Forum must be approved by a forum moderator or admin. As such, if you navigate to a feature that is members-only, you may receive an error page if your registration has not yet been approved. We apologize for any inconvenience and are approving new members as quickly as possible.

XML Exception - iUsageReporting GetReport method - Soap API

Caitlin McCabeCaitlin McCabe Administrator

Original Post: Sean Ohlinger, July 9, 2019 at 8:48 AM

Good Evening All,

I have been trying to use the GetReport method through the Soap API and a C# script and have been receiving the following Exception.

System.ServiceModel.ProtocolException: 'There is a problem with the XML that was received from the network. See inner exception for more details.'

Inner Exception:

XmlException: The data at the root level is invalid. Line 1, position 1.

I'm relatively new to working with SOAP and C# but have managed to get authenticated and query all other methods in several of the services. I'm hoping someone with a little more experience might see my newbie mistake and point me in the right direction.

Currently, I have the authenticated client and call GetReport with the authentication and the reportID but get the above error.

I have tried using the default app.config file and creating my own bindings and endpoint (both methods work for all other methods).

Panopto_UsageReporting.AuthenticationInfo authInfo

= new Panopto_UsageReporting.AuthenticationInfo();

//Local login for test server

authInfo.UserKey ="XXUsernameXX";

authInfo.Password = "XXpasswordXX";

UsageReportingClient src = new UsageReportingClient();

StatsReportStatus[] reports = src.GetRecentReports(authInfo,null);

//this call is successful with a return type of StatsReportStatus List

src.GetReport(authInfo,Guid.Parse("10101010-1010-1010-1010-101010101010"));