Welcome to the Panopto Community

Please note: All new registrants to the Panopto Community Forum must be approved by a forum moderator or admin. As such, if you navigate to a feature that is members-only, you may receive an error page if your registration has not yet been approved. We apologize for any inconvenience and are approving new members as quickly as possible.
Options

XML Exception - iUsageReporting GetReport method - Soap API

Caitlin McCabeCaitlin McCabe Administrator

Original Post: Sean Ohlinger, July 9, 2019 at 8:48 AM

Good Evening All,

I have been trying to use the GetReport method through the Soap API and a C# script and have been receiving the following Exception.

System.ServiceModel.ProtocolException: 'There is a problem with the XML that was received from the network. See inner exception for more details.'

Inner Exception:

XmlException: The data at the root level is invalid. Line 1, position 1.

I'm relatively new to working with SOAP and C# but have managed to get authenticated and query all other methods in several of the services. I'm hoping someone with a little more experience might see my newbie mistake and point me in the right direction.

Currently, I have the authenticated client and call GetReport with the authentication and the reportID but get the above error.

I have tried using the default app.config file and creating my own bindings and endpoint (both methods work for all other methods).

Panopto_UsageReporting.AuthenticationInfo authInfo

= new Panopto_UsageReporting.AuthenticationInfo();

//Local login for test server

authInfo.UserKey ="XXUsernameXX";

authInfo.Password = "XXpasswordXX";

UsageReportingClient src = new UsageReportingClient();

StatsReportStatus[] reports = src.GetRecentReports(authInfo,null);

//this call is successful with a return type of StatsReportStatus List

src.GetReport(authInfo,Guid.Parse("10101010-1010-1010-1010-101010101010"));