Welcome to the Panopto Community

Please note: All new registrants to the Panopto Community Forum must be approved by a forum moderator or admin. As such, if you navigate to a feature that is members-only, you may receive an error page if your registration has not yet been approved. We apologize for any inconvenience and are approving new members as quickly as possible.
Options

Possible to watch/edit Panopto videos locally on PC?

Hello,

I can create/save a Panopto video on my PC locally, but I don't see a way to play or edit it on my PC. The only way seems to be to upload it to the cloud-based server, and then play (and edit) it there.

Is there a way to watch the recordings (and edit them) before you upload them?

I'm new to Panopto and want to explore before I put something in the cloud, plus this would be handy to have when no internet connection is available.

This is under Windows 10 - thanks.

Panopto v 8.0.1.61831

Answers

• Options
    Caitlin McCabeCaitlin McCabe Administrator

Hi Esmail,

We don't offer an offline editor, but you can download your video as an .mp4 file and edit them in other software offline. The steps in our article, How to Download Video or Audio Streams as MP4s, can walk you through downloading the video files.

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to ask - we're always happy to help!

Best wishes,

Cait

• Options
    KathrynKathryn Administrator